- Sponsor's Agreement

- Platinum Sponsors

Quick Links...

GASSP News....


Registration  |  Vendors

Congratulations to Savannah Huff from Miss Mason's design class of Woodstock High School for winning the GASSP rebranding statewide competition!

GASSP Assistant Principal of the Year Finalists
  • Susan GordySusan Gordy
    Carrollton HS
  • Jonathan LeaJonathan Lea
    Richmond Hill HS
  • Dr. Josh LoweDr. Josh Lowe
    Forsyth Central HS

Breakout Schools
MS Application   HS Application

2020 Lifetouch Scholarship Winners

Student School Parent
Bryce Boland Lamar County HS David Boland
James Braxton Buff Eastside HS Bart Buff
Lily Carter Oconee Co. HS Keith Carter
Thomas Gary Dowis North Oconee HS Michael Dowis
James Finch Mary Persons HS Jim Finch
Hannah Gerrell White County HS Kristi Gerrell
Grayson Horne Brantley Co. HS Dean Horne
Hagen Marrion Pike Co. HS Tammy Marrion
Preston Mewborn Hart Co. HS Brooks Mewborn
Anna Moore Jefferson HS Brain Moore
Lauren Nicole Smallwood Ware Co. HS Lamar Smallwood
Caroline Thrower Bleckley Co. HS Carla Thrower

Assistant Principals of the Year
  • Mary Beth ThomasGASSP POY
    Dr. Chase Puckett,
    Newnan HS
  • Keith Carter GASSP MS POY
    Keith Carter
    Oconee County MS

 Dr. Alan Long Named GASSP Executive Director 

GASSP is pleased to announce Dr. Alan Long as its new Executive Director. Dr. Long will replace Mr. Melton Callahan, GASSP's Executive Director since 1997, at the end of the 2020 school year.

Press release >

GASSP Principal of the Year Finalists
  • Russell BrockRussell Brock
    Carson MS
  • Keith CarterKeith Carter
    Oconee MS
  • Kevin GainesKevin Gaines
    Hart County HS
  • Debi McNealDebi McNeal
    Richmond Hill HS
  • Chase PuckettChase Puckett
    Newnan HS
  • Rusty SowellRusty Sowell
    Crisp County HS

The finalists were selected from a large pool of applications. The application is an extensive review of the performance of their school based on data provided by the applicants. The finalists will go through an interview in Athens to determine the Georgia Principal of the Year.

The Principal of the Year recognition program is sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals. The Georgia winner will represent the state in the competition for National Principal of the Year, sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. The Principal of the Year program recognizes principals that excel in educational leadership, resolving complex problems, developing self and others, and community service.

GASSPís 1200 members across Georgia are extremely proud of the finalists. Melton Callahan, Executive Director of GASSP and JoAnn Bartoletti, Executive Director of NASSP, also offer their commendation for these outstanding school principals who personify excellence in providing quality leadership to their school communities.

Assistant Principals of the Year
  • Tammy Marion GASSP APOY
    Tammy Marion
    Mary Persons HS
  • Mary Beth ThomasGASSP MS APOY
    Kathie Monti
    ET Booth MS

 Kerensa Wing Named NASSP Principal of the Year 

Kerensa Wing, principal at Collins Hill High School in Suwanee, GA, has been named the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) 2020 National Principal of the Year

Read more >

Breakout Schools winners
Anita Wilson Carson Middle School
Marietta Sixth Grade Academy
Oconee County Middle School
Sweetwater Middle School
Trickum Middle School
Wilbanks Middle School
Crisp Co High School
Lambert High School
Marietta High School
Morgan County High School
Newnan High School
Windsor Forest High School
Savannah Arts High School

GASSP Assistant Principal of the Year Finalists
  • Dr. Barbara Bazor, Westside HSDr. Barbara Bazor
    Westside HS
  • Jeremy HartzogJeremy Hartzog
    Loganville MS
  • Tammy MarionTammy Marion
    Mary Persons HS
  • Kathie MontiKathie Monti
    ET Booth MS
  • Barbara SmithBarbara Smith
    Winder Barrow HS

2019 Lifetouch Scholarship Winners
  • Adam BelflowerAdan Belflower
  • Ian MeeksIan Meeks
  • Zachery BarrowZachery Barrow
  • Langston Keith TaylorLangston Keith Taylor
  • Brock SkinnerBrock Skinner
  • Grace Ann GillGrace Ann Gill
  • Kate TinneyKate Tinney
  • Mikayla DarbyMikayla Darby
  • Caroline TaylorCaroline Taylor

2017 Assistant Principals of the Year
  • Kerensa Wing2019 GASSP
    Principal of the Year

    Kerensa Wing
    Collins Hill HS
  • Mary Beth Thomas2019 GASSP MS
    Principal of the Year

    Mary Beth Thomas
    Wilbanks MS

GASSP 2018 Principal of the Year Finalists
  • Kristi GerrellsKristi Gerrells
    White County MS
    White County
  • Kerensa WingKerensa Wing
    Collins Hill HS
    Gwinnett County
  • Ivy SmithIvy Smith
    Pine Grove MS
    Lowndes County
  • Dr. Mark MergesDr. Mark Merges
    Creekview HS
    Cherokee County
  • Dr. Gene StarrDr. Gene Starr
    Applying County HS
    Applying County
  • Kevin GainesMary Beth Thomas
    Wilbanks MS
    Habersham County

See the press GASSP POY press release here

Link to join the GASSP Facebook group



Follow us on Twitter @gassp


GASSP Board of Directors

Important Dates

Application Deadline December 15, 2020

2020 Breakout Schools Application Deadline
January 18, 2021
MS Application
HS Application

March 6-8, 2021
Savannah, GA

2019 Fall Conference Presentations

GASSP newsletter - Fall 2019

GASSP newsletter - Fall 2018

GASSP newsletter - spring 2018

GASSP newsletter - fall 2017

GASSP newsletter - spring 2017

GASSP newsletter - Dec. 2016

GASSP newsletter - fall 2016



© Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals (GASSP) P.O. Box 2202 / Blairsville, Georgia 30514
Phone: (770) 289-8759 / Fax: (770) 967-2021